Final Major Project Brief

After focusing on the textures of corals within my pre-collection, I wanted to refine my research by looking more in depth into a specific area of sea life. During my pre-collection research, I discovered Giant clams and the frill like form they have; I continued this within my final brief. I then came across an image of a Sea Slug (Nudibranch in Latin) with their vibrant exterior as seen below.sea slug

Photo sourced from: https://aqua.org/blog/2016/April/Nudibranchs

Nudibranchs gain their bright colouring from the prey that they consume, this could be corals, anemone or other nudibranchs. Consequently, the colouring and natural prints within their skin is always different. I will base my designs around the motifs and prints found on Giant Clams and Sea Slugs, they will then be replicated using textile processes.

Within my pre-collection, I had researched into using embellishment techniques but did not explore this far enough; Therefore I wanted to incorporate this element in my final collection. To continue the sea theme, I took images of rubbish on the beach and I will use this use this for material inspiration to embellish with.

My concept statement below describes my collection , this will be used within my portfolio and future exhibitions:

Nudibranchia:

A hand printed collection of garments in luxurious fabrics of silk, velvet and leather. Heavily embellished and adorned with three dimensional pieces, inspired by discarded waste found on beaches. Bright colours influenced by prints found on sea slugs’ decorative exterior, replicated within hand printed textile processes and eclectic surface decoration.

Leave a comment