Pop, Minimalism and Conceptual art lecture

This lecture was on Pop, Minimalism, and Conceptual Art. This went straight over my head I’m afraid, in the lecture it was hard to understand the direct relevance to fashion through what was said about art. However, a lot of designers are influenced by pop art such as jeremy Scott who is the head designer at Moschino and Anya Hindmarch.

During the lecture we looked at art work by Jasper Johns, I really like the random nature of his work and the inconsistent way it is produced. The splattered paint across a canvas is a simple but effective painting and many post modernist designers use paint for deconstructed fashion. Alexander McQueen used a car paint sprayer in a live show to paint onto a dress.

We presented our research on designers from each of the fashion capitals of London, Paris, Milan and New York. My city was London which is where the new and upcoming designers show, many of the designers produce street style and ready to wear garments. I looked at Christopher Kane who I knew before and I also looked at Emilia Wickstead who is becoming more well known, I love both designers work and I’m glad I discovered Emilia Wickstead as she puts a modern spin on glass in garments. This was interesting to learn about new designers and the background of the shows. You can see my boards I created on Pinterest at @ruthashwell.

Leave a Reply

